Types of Attestation


There are three basic types of attestations:

State Attestation

State attestation is required before MEA attestation, where depending on the  type of document, relevant state attestation is required. For example in case of educational documents, attestation from State Education Department is required. In case of personal documents, Home Department or General Administration Department of the concerned state should attest the document prior to attestation by the MEA

MEA Attestation or Apostille

MEA attestation or apostille is done only after attestation by the relevant state authorities

Embassy Attestation

Embassy attestation is done after the MEA attestation/apostille


An Apostille is a type of attestation in which documents are legalized in a particular        format that is acceptable in all nations that belong to the Hague Convention. Essentially, Apostille is an international attestation that is acceptable in about 92 countries, and most of the western world recognizes Apostille.

Apostille stamp is a square shaped computer generated sticker stamp, pasted on reverse of the document by the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India. This is a unique computer generated stamp having a unique identification number, through which any member country of The Hague convention can check its authenticity online. Under normal circumstances, once the document is apostilled, it does not require to be attested further from the concerned embassy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *